2021 Centre

The 2021 edition of the Centre is will focus on Applicable Law Issues in International Arbitration. It will take place in The Hague from 16 August to 3 September 2021. The Directors of Research are Prof. Giuditta Cordero-Moss (University of Oslo) and Prof. Diego Fernández Arroyo (Sciences Po, Paris). The participants have already been selected and individual topics have been assigned to each of them by the Directors.

Two lists of issues to be individually addressed have been determined. The first list deals with the fundamental aspects of the topic. The second list responds to the fact that the applicable law is not necessarily unitary. The issues and corresponding researchers are the following:

I. General Issues

  1. Available rules of law regarding substantive issues – The strength of soft sources – Apollin Koagne Zouapet
  2. Available rules of law regarding procedural issues – The scope and applicability of the lex arbitri Charles-Maurice Mazuy
  3. Selection of the applicable law by the parties – Ana Coimbra Trigo; Irene Salvatore
  4. How do arbitrators ascertain the rules of law applicable to the merits? – Didier Franck Bationo (investments); Agatha Brandão de Oliveira (commercial)
  5. Overriding mandatory rules of a law not chosen by the parties – Wendinkonté Sylvie Zongo; Andrea Nikolic
  6. How do arbitrators interpret international treaties? – Ali Kairouani; Nicola Claire Strain
  7. Iura novit arbiter – Alexandre Senegacnik; Andrea Laura Mackielo
  8. Control by domestic courts of the law applied to the merits – Adodo Kouami
  9. Control by means of procedural public policy – Cecilia Velásquez
  10.  Misapplication of the law as manifest excess of powers under ICSID Convention – Ludovica Chiussi Curzi

II. Specific cases of determination of the applicable law

  1.  Validity of the arbitration agreement – Giulia Margherita Vallar
  2.  Qualification of the arbitrators – David Pavot
  3. Production and admissibility of evidence – Marco Buzzoni
  4. Legal privilege – Yagmur Hortoglu
  5. Interim measures – Paola Andrea Patarroyo Ramírez
  6. Interests on the awarded amounts – Briseida Sofia Jiménez Gómez
  7. Arbitrability – Erik Sinander
  8. Res iudicata – Federico Alberto Cabona
  9. Liability of arbitrators – Lito Dokopoulou