The Hague Academy of International Law

Curatorium and Administration

The Curatorium is the Scientific Board of the Academy. Its members, all of whom are highly qualified scholars of international law, were presided by Mr. Boutros Boutros-Ghali, former Secretary-General of the United Nations, up until his death on February 16th, 2016. Professor Yves Daudet was elected to succeed Mr. Boutros-Ghali as President on January 21st, 2017.

The Curatorium determines the scientific policy and the activities of the Academy, draws up its programmes, chooses lecturers from all backgrounds from among the most highly renowned academics and international practitioners.

The Secretary-General of the Academy may make proposals to the Curatorium, and is entrusted with implementing the decisions taken in its bi-annual meetings.


  • Yves  Daudet

    Yves Daudet

    Emeritus Professor at Sorbonne Law School (Paris I University)


  • Beat  Hess

    Beat Hess

    Chairman, Board of Directors, LafargeHolcim

Curatorium Members

  • Mohamed  Bennouna

    Mohamed Bennouna

    Judge at the International Court of Justice

  • Katharina  Boele-Woelki

    Katharina Boele-Woelki

    Dean of Bucerius Law School, Hamburg; President of the International Academy of Comparative Law

  • Hannah L.  Buxbaum

    Hannah L. Buxbaum

    Vice-President for International Affairs at Indiana University and Professor at IU Maurer School of Law

  • Antônio Augusto   Cançado Trindade

    Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade

    Judge at the International Court of Justice; former President and former Judge at the Inter-American Court of Human Rights

  • Hilary  Charlesworth

    Hilary Charlesworth

    Laureate Professor at Melbourne Law School; Distinguished Professor at the Australian National University

  • Giuditta  Cordero-Moss

    Giuditta Cordero-Moss

    Professor at the Department for Private Law, University of Oslo, Norway

  • Diego P.  Fernández Arroyo

    Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

    Professor at Sciences Po Law School, Paris

  • Bing Bing  Jia

    Bing Bing Jia

    Professor at Tsinghua University, Beijing

  • Maurice  Kamto

    Maurice Kamto

    Professor at Yaoundé II University

  • Djamchid  Momtaz

    Djamchid Momtaz

    Professor at the University of Teheran

  • Yuko  Nishitani

    Yuko Nishitani

    Professor at Kyoto University

  • Raymond  Ranjeva

    Raymond Ranjeva

    Former Judge and former Vice-President of the International Court of Justice

  • Nico J.  Schrijver

    Nico J. Schrijver

    Professor at Leiden University; State Councillor, Council of State, the Netherlands; President of the Institut de droit international

  • Linos-Alexander  Sicilianos

    Linos-Alexander Sicilianos

    President of the European Court of Human Rights; Professor at the University of Athens

  • Peter  Tomka

    Peter Tomka

    Judge at and former President of the International Court of Justice

  • Tullio  Treves

    Tullio Treves

    Professor at the University of Milan; Senior Public International Law Consultant, Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle LLP; former Judge at the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

President of the Board

  • Piet Hein  Donner

    Piet Hein Donner

    Honorary Minister of State and Former Vice-President of the Council of State


  • Jean-Marc  Thouvenin

    Jean-Marc Thouvenin

    Professor at Paris-Nanterre University


  • Erik  de Baedts

    Erik de Baedts


General Administration

  • Monique  Legerman

    Monique Legerman

    Deputy Secretary-General for Administrative Affairs

  • Vanina  Guenier

    Vanina Guenier

    Registration and General Affairs Officer

  • Daphne  Tengbergen

    Daphne Tengbergen

    Registration and General Affairs Officer

  • Anna  Vasilyeva

    Anna Vasilyeva

    General Affairs Coordinator

  • Marina  Voronenko

    Marina Voronenko

    General Affairs Officer

Financial Administration

  • Andrea  Kramer

    Andrea Kramer

    Head of the Financial Department

  • Lucienne  Bax

    Lucienne Bax



  • Simone  Cartier

    Simone Cartier

    Publications Manager

Register for our newsletter: