The External Programme

Before the External Programme

The External Programme is aimed at young university teachers and young civil servants from the ministry of foreign affairs or other ministries. The Programme has a purely academic character. Candidates are selected on the basis of their academic and professional merits, and they participate in the programme in their personal capacity.

To remain efficient, approximately 40 participants are admitted to each session;  half of them are nationals from the host country and the other half are selected from neighboring countries in the region (who must reside in their respective countries). The Secretary-General, on behalf of the Curatorium, selects the regional participants while local participants are selected by the host country.

The list of countries in the region whose nationals can participate is as follows: 

  • Argentine Republic
  • Belize
  • Plurinational State of Bolivia
  • Federative Republic of Brazil
  • Republic of Chile
  • Republic of Colombia
  • Republic of Ecuador
  • Republic of Guatemala
  • Cooperative Republic of Guyana
  • Republic of Peru
  • Republic of Suriname
  • Oriental Republic of Uruguay
  •  Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

Registrations for the External Programme in Paraguay will be open between 15 September and 10 November 2023.